Compare
How Lanek compares.
What Lanek does, next to the tools Irish practices run today. Lanek's column is the live product. Competitor columns are taken from each vendor's published materials, last checked on [date]; tell us if something has changed and we'll correct it.
Do not publish: legal read and browser check of flagged sources still to do
All notes and sources
Lanek
- the VAT3 file has been accepted by Revenue's test service; live submission as agent follows Revenue's production authorisation.
- Xero and Sage Accounting today; QuickBooks Online coming.
Bright
- BrightManager creates tasks from CRO compliance dates and links to Revenue income tax, VAT and corporation tax deadlines; no published list of the returns covered.
- tasks generated per client from compliance deadlines and CRO data; first-period dates not published.
- CRO registration and compliance data syncs into BrightManager; flagging of differences not published.
- BrightBooks prepares the VAT return from its own ledger and submits it via ROS, or saves it as PDF or CSV; only for books kept in BrightBooks.
- BrightPay files payroll to ROS with an agent certificate; BrightBooks files VAT via ROS; agent filing of tax returns not published.
- separate products (BrightManager, BrightPropose, BrightAccountsProduction, BrightTax, BrightBooks, BrightPay); client details sync from BrightManager into some of them.
- in BrightManager and in BrightPropose, a separately priced product.
- clients review and sign accounts online in BrightAccountsProduction; delivery by email not stated.
- portal uploads and forwarded emails are filed to the client record; sorting by category not published.
- fee projections, profitability and invoicing from work in progress in BrightManager; invoices raised through the Xero integration.
- BrightManager has Admin and User roles; client-level access limits are documented for BrightAccountsProduction, BrightTax and BrightBooks.
- a Bright blog (Aug 2026) says BrightTax covers corporation tax and submits to Revenue; the Irish BrightTax product page lists UK returns only.
- CRO compliance dates pulled into BrightManager; RBO not published.
- BrightAccountsProduction imports trial balances from Xero, QuickBooks and Sage (edition not named); BrightManager integrates with all three.
- trial balance import from spreadsheets; Sage 50 file import not specified.
- client-list export; full account export on request to support.
- products priced separately at the check date (BrightManager, BrightPropose, BrightAccountsProduction, BrightTax, BrightBooks, BrightPay).
Sage
- Sage 50 Accounts runs rule-based checks on the VAT return (possible duplicates, unexpected VAT amounts, excluded tax codes); not a return-level check with evidence per finding.
- an XML file for ROS upload from Sage 50 Accounts; in Sage Accounting the return is filed on ROS separately.
- direct ROS filing of CT1 and 46G through Corporation Tax Pro, and of payroll; filing as an agent not stated.
- users can be restricted to assigned clients and given an access level; no role matrix published.
- via Corporation Tax Pro, a separately sold product; CT1 and 46G filed to ROS.
- Final Accounts takes a trial balance from Sage products or CSV; Xero mapping documented for UK entities only.
- CSV export of lists such as contacts and transactions; no whole-practice export published.
- unlimited colleagues in Sage for Accountants per its help pages; desktop products licensed separately.
Xero + XPM
- VAT3 figures drill down to source transactions in the Xero Compliance (IE) app; no automated check of the return published.
- Xero Compliance (IE) app, from 14 Sept 2026, for accountants and bookkeepers; included on Starter, Standard and Premium plans.
- exports a file for upload through ROS; does not file on your behalf.
- Partner Hub + Practice Management, included for Silver, Gold and Platinum partners; Bronze or new practices USD 149 a month for up to 10 users.
- one client record across Partner Hub and Practice Management; link to the Irish VAT app not published.
- time-based and progress or final invoicing; no fee-review function published.
- staff access can be limited per client; restriction to assigned work not published.
- reads its own ledger.
- report and list exports; no whole-practice export published.
- unlimited users in Xero; Practice Management for Bronze practices capped at 10 users.
- list prices in USD on the Irish site at the check date.
Karbon
- recurring work on automatic schedules from templates; no Irish deadline library.
- one client record for practice work; no compliance or returns module.
- e-signature uses prepaid credit bundles; engagement letters are signed without credits.
- approval by emailed secure link or portal; needs a purchased e-signature bundle.
- client uploads attach to the client and work item; sorting by category not published.
- online payment collection not offered for euro accounts.
- user permissions on Business plan and above; privacy settings per contact and work item.
- Irish annual return date field on organisation records; RBO not published.
- Xero and QuickBooks Online; no native Sage Accounting integration published.
- CSV export of client, work and template data; custom export on Enterprise.
- deleting a contact removes its record, work and notes; linked emails are made private rather than deleted.
- paid add-ons include e-signature credits, Email Insights, Custom Reporting and training.
If you run a tool that isn't here, bring it to the walkthrough and we'll go through it row by row.
Book a walkthrough
Feature information from vendor websites and published documentation as checked on 29 October 2026. Product names belong to their owners. Lanek is not affiliated with any vendor named here. To request a correction, write to hello@[domain].
Practice software for Irish accounting practices.
Lanek Software is a trading name of Rathlow Limited, registered in Ireland, company number 822190. [Registered office address] · hello@[domain]